if i hear another "independent woman" ballad or rap song--written and performed by a man--imma SCREAM!
tonite, i was driving and i happened upon a song called "She Got Her Own." i couldn't catch the voice, so i made a mental note to Google it when i got home. i was shocked to find that it was by Ne-Yo. i don't consider myself to be a big Ne-Yo fan one way or the other, but he does have SOME decent material. this song--from melody to lyrical content to production sounded like the local teeny-bopper guy group from around-the-way performing at skating rinks and talent shows on the weekends--not what i would've expected from Ne-Yo.
but i digress.
without wasting precious blog space with all of the lyrics (i'll leave that to you to YouTube it), suffice it to say that it is yet another ode to women who have their own stuff--house, car, job, money, etc...and don't need/ask a man to provide any of those things for them.
ok, ummm..is that something to be celebrated? is that an anomaly?
or is it just ppl taking care of their business?
i don't have one woman in my circle--not ONE--whether acquaintance or close friend--who ISN'T independent. whether married/single/serious relationship, all of these women are financially, professionally, spiritually, and emotionally independent. no matter where they are on the income spectrum, they're taking care of themselves and their families, where applicable.
and none of them are looking for confetti and balloons...or a song.
for my male readers--please don't take this blog as an "i-dont-need-a-man" treastise. there is a difference between needing someone to do something for you (paying your bills, giving you an allowance, etc) and the natural human desire for companionship. there is also a difference between needing someone to financially support you and appreciating/looking forward to a dual-income situation where perhaps there is less financial burden and more opportunities to save/invest/make occassional nice material purchases or go on a nice vacation. and i think i can speak for all of my "independent women" friends that though we all are doing what we gotta do, we're not too hard or too proud to not welcome our partner's contributions in all areas of our lives and vice versa.
perhaps i'm naive....or maybe i've just been blessed with a great group of friends, which adds to the annoyance behind all of these songs. i am certain that there are women out there that are 150% golddiggers and looking for a man to bankroll every facet of their lives--i just don't know and/or hang with any!
so to all my I-N-D-E-P-E-N-D-E-N-T homegirls:
keep up the good--i mean, NORMAL--work ;-)
Saturday, December 6, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment